Media Month Check In
It's June 20th. Three weeks of June, gone. Two weeks of summer vacation have flown by. Please, Dear Summer, SLOW DOWN.
I am loving the pace of these days. Especially the mornings. My people are actually sleeping in (read: sleeping past 6:00am). I am raising 4 morning people. Which is great as I am one too. Except my mornings are holy. Meaning, unless you are the Holy Spirit, please do not talk to me. I'm trying to think. I'm enjoying my coffee. I'm being.
Morning is when I do my best thinking. As the day wears on my brain turns to mush. I'm not saying I don't enjoy the rest of the day because I absolutely do! There is just something so peaceful about the morning hours. It probably has something to do with the fact that I am by myself and no one is talking to me. Have I mentioned I'm an introvert?
Anyhow, on to the purpose of this blog post: Media Month Check-In.
I waffle between being a complete Pharisee (I will follow ALL the rules and run rough-shod over anyone who gets in my way) and throwing the rule book over my shoulder (eh, who cares anyway?!).
I am convinced I have split personalities.
So, what I am trying to say is this: The beginning of this month I kept track of every second I spent on Facebook or other not-legitimately-important web time or TV watching.
We all know that I did not keep track of time I spent texting. About a week or so in,probably after the infamous Drive To The Zoo debacle. (Side note: I just looked up the word 'debacle' to make sure I am using it correctly. Webster's 1913 dictionary has this definition: "a complete and ludicrous failure." Yup, that about covers it!) I decided that all texts from people I care about are considered LIT's. Judge me however you want.
I lasted about a week and a half in Pharisee mode. Then I decided it was too much bother to write down and track all my time. I mean, I can just pop on for 5 minutes, update my hilarious status, and not get sucked in, right?
I probably didn't spend much time online today so I can relax with Larry and watch this half hour show, right? Oh, look, another episode of the same show is coming on! So that makes up my hour of media for the day. Hmmm, well, the commercials shouldn't count. That probably cancels out the time I spent on Facebook today.
Isn't this how we let sin into our lives? Small justifications.
"It's just a little white lie."
"My company makes so much money they won't ever miss a few office supplies."
"It's just one stray thought. It doesn't matter."
Ephesians 4:27 says "do not give the devil a foothold."
Now, I am no rock climber (Ha! I just had a hilarious mental picture of me all harnessed up standing at the bottom of a rock wall.) but my understanding is that a foothold can be super small.
Like a tiny crack. Like a little white lie. Like stealing a few office supplies. Like entertaining a sinful stray thought.
Can we start being a people of integrity? Can I stop lying to myself to sooth my conscience? Let's stand up and make Jesus proud of His Bride.
"And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with whom you were sealed for the day of redemption...Be kind and compassionate to one another...Be imitators of God, therefore, as dearly loved children and live a life of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God." Ephesians 4:30, 32 & 5:1-2
Wow, do you know the cool thing about blogging? When I started this post I had no idea I would end up at these thoughts.
I have one kid awake now which means it's no longer quiet (why do they start talking the minute their eyes open?) so I can't think clearly anymore.
Also, I have no good wrap up for this blog. Just...thanks for reading it. I pray you let Jesus speak to you today. Go out and be imitators of God!
No comments:
Post a Comment