Par-tay!
So today was the 2nd to last loophole in our first month of "7".
Jessie and Cole's combined birthday party.
I said from the beginning that I was not going to stick to our 7 ingredients for this day. But I wanted to try the best I could to use what I had on hand and to utilize some of our 7 foods that we are buying this month.
The birthday kids wanted burgers and chips. Seems pretty simple, right?
WRONG!
Being an all or nothing girl, burgers to me mean: lettuce, tomato, onion, mayo, ketchup, mustard, relish, peppers, cheese and maybe some avocado. And delicious buns. I buy the cheap kind cuz my peeps don't appreciate seeds and grains like I do, but when there are other people coming I break out the good rolls.
Except this time I didn't. My mom got me some free bread:
There, in the back, do you see it? Onion, pepper, and poppy seed buns. Oh my!
I could use the million condiments from my fridge:
Dill pickles, 7 day pickles, zucchini relish, and jalapenos: all canned bounty from my garden last year. A jar of mayo. A bottle of ketchup. And three, yes three, kinds of mustard. None of it regular.
Cheese is one of our 7 foods. So really, the only "rule" i broke for burgers was buying the actual burgers themselves.
Ok, I hear you screaming "HOT DOGS!!! I SEE HOT DOGS!!!"
Don't get your panties in a bunch. My mom gave me them too. But no hot dog buns. And I didn't want to buy any. Enter pretzel dogs.
(Ew, weird/gross looking photo. These were actually delicious.) My cupboards held all the ingredients for soft pretzel dough. So, no cheating on the dogs!
Chips. Clearly cheating, no way around it.
Broccoli Salad. I don't have a photo because I tried to take one and it didn't look right and I was too lazy too busy to move it to try different lighting. Broccoli, cauliflower, and cheese are all "7" sanctioned food. I had bacon in the freezer. I had the dressing ingredients in the fridge/cupboard. Win.
The cakes:
I'm not gonna lie, I bought a bucket of Leola Frosting at Glenwood. I can't make homemade icing as good as that, ok people? Other than that I had all the ingredients on hand.
And how cool is that polka dot cake?! Shout out to Michelle, thanks for letting me borrow the cake pop maker! Wanna come up for dessert? I have half a cake left :)
Normally a birthday celebration would include soda and ice cream. I omitted both. No one asked for them. Not even the kids.
That.Is.Shocking.
Then I fed my niece chocolate cake right off the cake server. Because it's my house and I can. And also because I don't have to deal with her at bedtime.
Sorry, Tiana.
Overall, I would say "7" didn't ruin change our party drastically. Mostly because I still have SO much food in the house.
When it comes right down to it, a party is not so much about the food (gasp!) but the people you get to spend quality time with.
And we had cool, quality people in abundance.
No comments:
Post a Comment